Student Ambassadors

The Student Ambassador Program was established to improve outreach to prospective students and build relationships with alumni and the WSU community. Ambassadors represent the College of Engineering and Computer Science and serve as hosts and hostesses at various events, both on and off-campus.

CECS Student Ambassadors are a select group of students who have demonstrated outstanding academic achievement and exemplary student leadership. Ambassadors are dedicated to serving and representing the College of Engineering and Computer Science and Wright State University. If you have a question about what is like to be a student at WSU, feel free to email any of the CECS Student Ambassadors below. For more information on how to join the program contact Ann Wright, ann.wright@wright.edu.

 

Goonmeet Bajaj
Sophomore, Computer Science

bajaj.3@wright.edu

What advice do you have for a freshman in the College of Engineering and Computer Science?
Try your best to get involved! Take interest in what you are doing and don't hesitate to try new things. Keep your grades up! Keep in mind, chances are opportunities knocking at your door!

Emily Burns
Senior, Mechanical Engineering

burns.130@wright.edu

What do you like most about the College of Engineering and Computer Science?
How easily accessible the faculty and staff are, along with students. They are here to help you succeed and they want to help you. If you seek help, you will be able to find it.

Jennel Chumney
Sophomore, Biomedical Engineering

chumney.2@wright.edu

What is the most fun activity you haveen involved with at Wright State?
The Greek Week Lip Sync Battle. Tons of people came out for some great entertainment from fellow friends and classmates and it was a blast!

Kaitlyn Danner
Graduate Student, Biomedical Engineering

danner.16@wright.edu

What advice do you have for a freshman in the College of Engineering and Computer Science?
You determine what your college experience is like. If you want to get involved, join and organization; if you want to focus on school, make a study group; but most importantly, make friends that can show you the fun side of things and be there for you if things get tough.

Michael Graves
Graduate Student, Biomedical Engineering

graves.35@wright.edu

What advice do you have for a freshman in the College of Engineering and Computer Science?
If you don't understand what is going on, don't be afraid to ask questions.

Moe Hamdan
Senior, Biomedical Engineering Pre-Med

hamdan.6@wright.edu

What advice do you have for a freshman in the College of Engineering and Computer Science?
Organize your time wisely because life is short, and you don't really want to live small. Get involved, make connections, and work hard on yourself to develop faster and stronger, towards your engineering career.

Stephen Hawkins
Junior, Mechanical Engineering

hawkins.107@wright.edu

What do you like most about the College of Engineering and Computer Science?
I like how willing and eager all of the professors are to help their students. Whether it be helping with questions on class content, writing letters of recommendation, or helping you with other aspects of your life. They truly care and want to see everyone succeed.

Tyler Highlander
Graduate Student, Computer Science and Computer Engineering

highlander.2@wright.edu

What do you like most about the College of Engineering and Computer Science?
The personal relationships that can be made with professors and staff.

Ashley Jenkins
Sophomore, Computer Science and Computer Engineering

jenkins.213@wright.edu

What do you like most about the College of Engineering and Computer Science?
Being in CECS provides me with more opportunities than I ever could have imagined, and it's preparing me for anything I want to do.

Joe Kershner
Graduate Student, Biomedical Engineering Pre-Med

kershner.13@wright.edu

What advice do you have for a freshman in the College of Engineering and Computer Science?
Take advantage of all the academic help the college offers through tutors, etc; you have to stay on top of your classes in order to succeed. Also, it's never too early to start networking.

Emily Millar
Graduate Student, Biomedical Engineering

millar.4@wright.edu

What advice do you have for a freshman in the College of Engineering and Computer Science?
Don't fall behind in your work. Try your hardest with everything that you do and never give up.

Morgan Miller
Senior, Electrical Engineering

miller.1076@wright.edu

What is the most fun activity you have been involved with at Wright State?
Being a TA for the intro engineering course and helping students get a good start in their engineering courses.

Ashley Mohler
Senior, Biomedical Engineering

mohler.10@wright.edu

What advice do you have for a freshman in the College of Engineering and Computer Science?
Get involved! It’s the best way to meet people in your major and that can be a great success tool. Plus, student organizations are a great way to make friends.

Joe Peoples
Junior, Mechanical Engineering

peoples.17@wright.edu

What is the most fun activity you have been involved with at Wright State?
Engineers Without Borders hosted a Euchre Tournament last fall. I won, it was awesome!

Dan Rapking
Graduate Student, Biomedical Engineering

rapking.2@wright.edu

What advice do you have for a freshman in the College of Engineering and Computer Science?
Honestly, the best thing to do is get involved, whether it's in class or organizations. This helps you meet new people, while building a network of teachers, peers, and other mentors that can help you down the road. This can help you with homework, finding friends to hang out with, and finding jobs that interest you!

Tori Robinson
Junior, Computer Engineering

robinson.384@wright.edu

What do you like most about the College of Engineering and Computer Science?
My favorite part about CECS is that you are involved in a huge network of people. Teachers and students a like are all working together to help each other learn and achieve their best.

Amena Shermadou
Graduate Student, Biomedical Engineering

shermadou.4@wright.edu

What is the most fun activity you have been involved with at Wright State?
Engineering in Medicine, which is a program hosted by Biomedical Engineering Society that exposes area high school students to how cool Biomedical Engineering is.

Ashley Smith
Graduate Student, Electrical Engineering

smith.1169@wright.edu

Who did you co-op with? What did you find most beneficial about your co-op?
I did a co-op through SOCHE on the Air Force base. The thing that benefited me the most is that I got experience in a wide range of labs. It allowed me to work with a large variety of people as well.

Emma Sum
Junior, Electrical Engineering

sum.2@wright.edu

What advice do you have for a freshman in the College of Engineering and Computer Science?
Don't be afraid to get out there and talk to people. Engineers, students and professors alike, are some of the coolest people you'll ever meet. And chances are, they'll have a lot of experience that they will be more than happy to share with you.

Eric Tatman
Junior, Mechanical Engineering

tatman.10@wright.edu

What advice do you have for a freshman in the College of Engineering and Computer Science?
Get involved! Utilize the CECS Help Room and take advantage of the small class sizes by getting to know your professors and peers.

Bo Whip
Junior, Mechanical Engineering

whip.5@wright.edu

What is the most fun activity you have been involved with at Wright State?
I love playing intramural sports here. I participated in the mud volleyball tournament this year and I was still picking off mud two days and two showers later. It was a really fun event!